Jack Dalrymple on Education



K-12, equal and adequate funding for all districts

Senate Bill 2150 allocates $997 million in state funding for K-12 schools, an increase of $102.5 million over the current biennium.

The equitable & adequate funding of K-12 education statewide is a valuable investment in our youth & our future. Since 2006, many have worked hard to bring about the greatest reform of K-12 funding in our history. This legislation builds on that success and ensures that all students have access to the resources and opportunities they need to achieve their full potential.

Source: N.D. 2011 gubernatorial press release, "K-12" , May 10, 2011

Higher education is key to North Dakota's future

It is important for us to continue to invest in the system, ensuring the competitiveness of our colleges and universities and creating enhanced opportunities for our young people to excel as tomorrow's leaders.

Legislation will minimize tuition increases and address funding inequities, enhance healthcare education programs and support non-beneficiary students attending ND tribal colleges. Senate Bill 2013 includes increased funding for scholarships for ND students.

Source: N.D. 2011 gubernatorial press release, "Higher Ed" , Apr 4, 2011

Achieved long-sought goal of 70% funding from state

Senate bill 2200, passed in 2007, laid to rest the issue of equity in school funding. In 2009, House bill 1400 addressed the issue of adequacy and brought us to the long-sought goal of 70% funding from state resources. This measure joined with another breakthrough piece of legislation to reduce a school districts' reliance on local property taxes through a reduction of 75 mills in the general fund levy. This reduced the bill to local taxpayers by an average of 18%.
Source: 2011 State of the State speech to North Dakota legislature , Jan 4, 2011

Other governors on Education: Jack Dalrymple on other issues:
ND Gubernatorial:
Doug Burgum
Marvin Nelson
ND Senatorial:
Heidi Heitkamp

Gubernatorial Debates 2017:
NJ: Fulop(D) vs.Lesniak(D)
VA: Gillespie(R) vs.Wittman(R) vs.Northam(D)
Gubernatorial Debates 2016:
DE: Bonini(R) vs.Carney(D)
IN: Pence(R) vs.Gregg(D)
MO: Hanaway(R) vs.Brunner(R) vs.Kinder(R) vs.Greitens(R)
MT: Bullock(D) vs.Perea(R) vs.Johnson(R) vs.Gianforte(R) vs.McChesney(D)
NC: McCrory(R) vs.Cooper(D) vs.Spaulding(D)
ND: Dalrymple(R) vs.Stenehjem(R) vs.Becker(R) vs.Heitkamp(D) vs.Pomeroy(D)
NH: Hassan(D) vs.Bradley(R) vs.Sununu(R) vs.Lavoie(R) vs.Connolly(D) vs.Dextraze(I)
OR: Brown(D) vs.Bell(D) vs.Niemeyer(R) vs.Pierce(R)
UT: Herbert(R) vs.Johnson(R) vs.Cook(D)
VT: Shumlin(D) vs.Minter(D) vs.Dunne(D) vs.Scott(R) vs.Lisman(R) vs.Smith(D)
WA: Inslee(D) vs.Bryant(R)
WV: Kessler(R) vs.Cole(D)
Newly-elected governors (first seated in Jan. 2015):
AK-I: Bill Walker
AR-R: Asa Hutchinson
AZ-R: Doug Ducey
IL-R: Bruce Rauner
MA-R: Charlie Baker
MD-R: Larry Hogan
NE-R: Pete Ricketts
OR-D: Kate Brown
PA-D: Tom Wolf
RI-D: Gina Raimondo
TX-R: Greg Abbott

Lame ducks 2015-16:
DE-D: Jack Markell
(term-limited 2016)
KY-D: Steve Beshear
(term-limited 2015)
LA-R: Bobby Jindal
(term-limited 2015)
MO-D: Jay Nixon
(term-limited 2016)
VT-D: Peter Shumlin
(retiring 2016)
WV-D: Earl Ray Tomblin
(term-limited 2016)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Local Issues
Social Security
Tax Reform

Search for...

Page last updated: Sep 11, 2016