Tim Pawlenty on Crime

Republican MN Governor

Reinstate death penalty for the most heinous crimes

In a 2003 murder case, authorities soon zeroed in on a suspect, Alfonso Rodriguez, a repeat sex offender who had been released from the prison system a few months earlier after serving out a 23-year sentence for a prior crime. They identified clear evidence that Rodriguez had stabbed and abducted his victim. I did everything I could to make sure other horrible offenders like Rodriguez would remain behind bars for the rest of their lives. Because he brought his victim across state lines, Rodriguez was tried in federal court. That opened up the possibility that he could receive the death penalty--and he did. I strongly supported the sentence, and I went on to advocate reinstating the penalty in MN for the most heinous criminals. Even though Rodriguez's release decision predated my time as Governor, I came to understand that the system had failed & that it needed to be much stronger. My administration increased funding to lock up sex offenders and make laws relating to sex offenders tougher.
Source: Courage to Stand, by Gov. Tim Pawlenty, p.162-164 , Jan 11, 2011

Minimum mandatory sentences & sex offender notification

In 1998, Pawlenty campaigned for a fourth term in the House, telling reporters: "Constituents want low taxes, good schools, safe neighborhoods. It's not a lot more complicated than that." He listed among his top accomplishments his authoring of a crime bill placing minimum mandatory sentences on repeat perpetrators of domestic violence, and a community notification law requiring police to notify neighbors when a serious sex offender moved near them.
Source: Sam's Club Republican, by J.A. McClure, p. 16 , May 10, 2010

More prisons; tougher penalties for sex offenders

Source: Campaign website, www.timpawlenty.com, “Issues” , Nov 7, 2006

Other governors on Crime: Tim Pawlenty on other issues:
MN Gubernatorial:
Mark Dayton
MN Senatorial:
Al Franken
Amy Klobuchar

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Fax number:
Search for...

Page last updated: Nov 28, 2011