Haley Barbour on Free Trade

Former Republican MS Governor (until 2012)

Use the WTO and NAFTA to insist on domestic interests

The US will promote increased economic opportunities for Americans to do business in Central and Eastern Europe, the former Soviet Union, and Asian nations moving toward more open, market-oriented economies. The US must pursue innovative mechanisms to encourage American trade and investment in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

The US will continue to seek cooperative trading partners throughout the world, but we will no longer accept uneven trading relationships with countries that do not grant American businesses the opportunity to compete in their markets.

Where trading partners continue to build barriers to open trade, the US must use the World Trade Organization, NAFTA, and domestic laws to insist on the rights of our exporters and domestic interests.

Source: Agenda For America, by Haley Barbour, p.171-172 , Apr 25, 1996

Focus on making the WTO work for American interests

The US must focus its attention on making the WTO work for American interests. The WTO is charged with enforcing the numerous new market-opening provisions won in the Uruguay Round. We must push the WTO to fulfill its mission. Where countries have not opened their markers in compliance with WTO requirements, the US should call them to account and, where necessary, utilize the WTO's new dispute resolution procedures. The WTO dispute settlement regime must become a platform for promoting market access for American business, and we should make aggressive use of it to eliminate foreign practices that violate the WTO's rules.
Source: Agenda For America, by Haley Barbour, p.182 , Apr 25, 1996

Other governors on Free Trade: Haley Barbour on other issues:
MS Gubernatorial:
Phil Bryant
MS Senatorial:
Roger Wicker
Thad Cochran

Newly elected Nov. 2012:
IN: Mike Pence (R)
NC: Pat McCrory (R)
NH: Maggie Hassan (D)
MT: Steve Bullock (D)
WA: Jay Inslee (D)

Re-elected 2012:
DE: Jack Markell (D)
MO: Jay Nixon (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
UT: Gary Herbert (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WV: Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Up for re-election 2013:
NJ: Chris Christie
VA: Bob McDonnell
Up for re-election 2014:
AK: Sean Parnell
AL: Robert Bentley
AR: Mike Beebe
AZ: Jan Brewer
CA: Jerry Brown
CO: John Hickenlooper
CT: Dan Malloy
FL: Rick Scott
GA: Nathan Deal
HI: Neil Abercrombie
IA: Terry Branstad
ID: Butch Otter
IL: Pat Quinn
KS: Sam Brownback
MA: Deval Patrick
MD: Martin O'Malley
ME: Paul LePage
MI: Rick Snyder
MN: Mark Dayton
NH: Maggie Hassan
NM: Susana Martinez
NV: Brian Sandoval
NY: Andrew Cuomo
OH: John Kasich
OK: Mary Fallin
OR: John Kitzhaber
PA: Tom Corbett
RI: Linc Chafee
SC: Nikki Haley
SD: Dennis Daugaard
TN: Bill Haslam
TX: Rick Perry
VT: Peter Shumlin
WI: Scott Walker
WY: Matt Mead
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Fax number:

Page last updated: Apr 25, 2013