Home Issues Candidates Recent Grid Archive Senate VoteMatch_Quiz
 Notebooks:   |   Bill   Sponsorships   Policy   Reports   Memberships/   Affiliations   Group   Ratings   Court   Rulings   Congressional   Surveys 

Bill Sponsorships
Policy Reports
Memberships / Affiliations
Group Ratings
Court Rulings
Senate Surveys

Bill Sponsorships:
Congressional bills 2011-2012
Congressional bills 2009-2010
2008 Presidential Contenders' bills
Congressional bills 1998-2008
2010 Senate signature bills
2008 Senate signature bills
2008 Presidential signature bills
Pres. Barack Obama's Senate signature bills
V.P. Joe Biden's Senate signature bills
Rep. Ron Paul's House signature bills
Sen. John McCain's Senate signature bills
Sen. Hillary Clinton's Senate signature bills

Congressional memberships 2012
Congressional memberships 2001-2011
112th Congress Committees
Congressional Caucuses
Congressional Group Ratings

Surveys: Collection of all surveys in one summary.
2012 Project Vote Smart
2012 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Faith2Action.org voter guide
2010 Project Vote Smart
Contract From America
Contract With America

Reports & Letters:
Governmental Reports
Resolutions 2011
Letters 2011
Supreme Court Rulings
Supreme Court 2011:

2008 Presidential
2004 Presidential
2000 Presidential
2008 Issues
2004 Issues
2000 Issues

Senate Votes:
Through 2011
Through 2009
Through 2007
Through 2003

House Votes:
Through 2011


Error processing SSI file

2009-S1319 on Jun 22, 2009

Source: S.1319&HR450
A bill to require Congress to specify the source of authority under the United States Constitution for the enactment of laws.

Each Act of Congress shall contain a concise explanation of the specific constitutional authority relied upon for the enactment of each portion of that Act. The failure to comply with this section shall give rise to a point of order in either House of Congress. The availability of this point of order does not affect any other available relief.

Constitutional Authority for This Act: This Act proposes to establish new procedures by which legislation shall be considered by Congress and is enacted pursuant to the power granted Congress under article I, section 5, clause 2, of the United States Constitution establishing that each House may determine the rules of its proceedings.

  • Topic: Government Reform
  • Headline: Require all laws to cite Constitutional authorization
  • Headline 2: Sponsored bill that laws must cite Constitutional authority

  • Key for participation codes:
  • Sponsorships: p=sponsored; o=co-sponsored; s=signed
  • Memberships: c=chair; m=member; e=endorsed; f=profiled; s=scored
  • Resolutions: i=introduced; w=wrote; a=adopted
  • Cases: w=wrote; j=joined; d=dissented; c=concurred
  • Surveys: '+' supports; '-' opposes.

Democrats participating in 2009-S1319

Republicans participating in 2009-S1319

Michele Bachmann s1sMinnesota Republican
John Barrasso s1sWY Republican Jr Senator
Gresham Barrett s1sSouth Carolina Republican (until 2010)
Brian Bilbray s1sCalifornia Republican
Gus Bilirakis s1sFlorida Republican
Rob Bishop s1sUtah Republican
Marsha Blackburn s1sTennessee Republican
John Boozman s1sAR Republican Jr Senator
Paul Broun s1sGeorgia Republican
Sam Brownback s1sKS Republican Governor
Jim Bunning s1sKY Republican Jr Senator (retiring 2010)
Richard Burr s1sNC Republican Sr Senator; previously Representative
Saxby Chambliss s1sGA Republican Sr Senator
Tom Coburn s2pOK Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Mike Conaway s1sTexas Republican
Michael Crapo s1sID Republican Sr Senator
John Culberson s1sTexas Republican
Geoff Davis s1sKentucky Republican (Retiring 2012)
Nathan Deal s1sGA Republican Governor
Jim DeMint s1sSC Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
John Ensign s1sNV Republican Jr Senator
Michael Enzi s1sWY Republican Sr Senator
Jeff Flake s1sArizona Republican (Senate run 2012)
Randy Forbes s1sVirginia Republican
Virginia Foxx s1sNorth Carolina Republican
Trent Franks s1sArizona Republican
Scott Garrett s1sNew Jersey Republican
Louie Gohmert s1sTexas Republican
Bob Goodlatte s1sVirginia Republican
Lindsey Graham s1sSC Republican Sr Senator
Chuck Grassley s1sIA Republican Sr Senator
Dean Heller s1sNevada Republican (Resigned 2011)
Wally Herger s1sCalifornia Republican (Retiring 2012)
Peter Hoekstra s1sMI Republican Challenger
Duncan Hunter Jr. s1sCalifornia Republican
Kay Bailey Hutchison s1sTX Republican Sr Senator (Retiring)
James Inhofe s1sOK Republican Sr Senator
Johnny Isakson s1sGA Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Sam Johnson s1sTexas Republican
John Kline s1sMinnesota Republican
Jon Kyl s1sAZ Republican Jr Senator (Retiring)
Doug Lamborn s1sColorado Republican
Connie Mack s1sFL Former Republican Senator (until 2000)
John McCain s1sAZ Republican Sr Senator
Michael McCaul s1sTexas Republican
Mitch McConnell s1sKY Republican Sr Senator
Thad McCotter s1sMichigan Republican
Patrick McHenry s1sNorth Carolina Republican
Jeff Miller s1sFlorida Republican
Jerry Moran s1sKansas Republican (until 2010)
Sue Myrick s1sNorth Carolina Republican
Randy Neugebauer s1sTexas Republican
Pete Olson s1sTexas Republican
Ron Paul s1sPOTUS Republican (Libertarian 1988)
Ted Poe s1sTexas Republican
Bill Posey s1sFlorida Republican
Tom Price s1sGeorgia Republican
Jim Risch s1sID Former Republican Governor (2006-2007); U.S. Senator
Phil Roe s1sTennessee Republican
Paul Ryan s1sWisconsin Republican
Pete Sessions s1sTexas Republican
John Shadegg s2pArizona Republican
Lamar Smith s1sTexas Republican
Lee Terry s1sNebraska Republican
Glenn Thompson s1sPennsylvania Republican
John Thune s1sSD Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
David Vitter s1sLA Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Zach Wamp s1sTennessee Republican (until 2010)
Lynn Westmoreland s1sGeorgia Republican
Roger Wicker s1sMississippi Republican (Senate 2008)
Robert Wittman s1sVirginia Republican

Independents participating in 2009-S1319

Total recorded by OnTheIssues:

Democrats: 0
Republicans: 71
Independents: 0

Reproduction of material from any OnTheIssues.org pages without written permission is prohibited.
Copyright © 1999-2022 Jesse Gordon and OnTheIssues.org , all rights reserved.
OnTheIssues.org 1770 Massachusetts Ave. #630, Cambridge MA 02140

E-mail us at:submit at OnTheIssues.org
(Editorial staff, for news and corrections)
Business information (Dr. Naomi Lichtenberg, for partnerships and advertising)
Political information (Jesse Gordon, for content and technical matters)
About Us (We report about campaigns; please don't write us if you want to reach any campaign!)
  Newsletter     Signup  
Or click for More Info.