Search for...
Follow @ontheissuesorg

Jack Markell on Civil Rights

Delaware Democratic Governor

Signs civil union rights into law

Delaware's LGBT community is inseparable from every Delaware community. Same-sex couples from across the state came to Dover and made it clear that their healthy, loving families make our state stronger. With the signing of the civil union law, we said to any Delawareans that regardless of sexual orientation, if you have committed yourself to someone, the law would honor your right to make those decisions together.
Source: 2011 gubernatorial press release, "Legislative Session" , Jul 1, 2011

Bans discrimination based on sexual orientation

Discrimination in any form is wrong, and I am proud to be signing a law that guarantees civil rights for all. Today's signing is a triumph for the hundreds of Delawareans who worked endlessly to increase equality.

The law adds sexual orientation to the state's anti-discrimination statute, which already bans discrimination based on traits such as gender, age, religion, nationality and handicap. Discrimination is prohibited in areas such as employment, housing, insurance and public accommodations.

Source: 2009 gubernatorial press release, "Equal Rights" , Jul 2, 2009

Other governors on Civil Rights: Jack Markell on other issues:

DE Senatorial:
Chris Coons
Tom Carper

Newly seated 2013:
IN: Mike Pence (R)
NC: Pat McCrory (R)
NH: Maggie Hassan (D)
MT: Steve Bullock (D)
WA: Jay Inslee (D)

Re-elected 2012:
DE: Jack Markell (D)
MO: Jay Nixon (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
UT: Gary Herbert (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WV: Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Up for election 2013:
NJ-R: Chris Christie
NJ-D: Barbara Buono
VA: Bob McDonnell(Retiring)
VA-R: Ken Cuccinelli
VA-D: Terry McAuliffe
Up for re-election 2014:
AK: Sean Parnell
AL: Robert Bentley
AR: Mike Beebe
AZ: Jan Brewer
CA: Jerry Brown
CO: John Hickenlooper
CT: Dan Malloy
FL: Rick Scott
GA: Nathan Deal
HI: Neil Abercrombie
IA: Terry Branstad
ID: Butch Otter
IL: Pat Quinn
KS: Sam Brownback
MA: Deval Patrick
MD: Martin O'Malley
ME: Paul LePage
MI: Rick Snyder
MN: Mark Dayton
NH: Maggie Hassan
NM: Susana Martinez
NV: Brian Sandoval
NY: Andrew Cuomo
OH: John Kasich
OK: Mary Fallin
OR: John Kitzhaber
PA: Tom Corbett
RI: Linc Chafee
SC: Nikki Haley
SD: Dennis Daugaard
TN: Bill Haslam
TX: Rick Perry
VT: Peter Shumlin
WI: Scott Walker
WY: Matt Mead
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Email Contact Form
Fax number:

Page last updated: Jul 01, 2013